

Source:

Dirección de Comunicación Institucional

On November 5, in the "Luis Augusto Turcios Lima" Theater Hall of the Ministry of Communications, the official constitution of the Technical Advisory Council of the organization took place. The Technical Advisory Council of the Ministry of Communications will be made up mainly by highly prestigious specialists, not only in science and communications, but also in other areas, which allows giving a multidisciplinary and transversal approach to the analysis of proposals for the development of science, technology and innovation within the Communications System. Its constitution favors and stimulates the analysis, evaluations and discussions of competent subjects to the Organization, by means of its advice, suggestions and recommendations, incorporating good practices when unifying science, technique and innovation.

Vice Minister Grisel Reyes León, Vice President of the Technical Advisory Council and Vice Minister of CITMA Armando Rodríguez Batista presided over the event.

The ceremony was also attended by the Vice-Ministers of Mincom and the Directors of Technological Development of ETECSA, of the Business Group of Informatics and Communications, of the Business Group Correos de Cuba and of the Central Organ. And from Villa Clara present by videoconference the experts of the Central University of Las Villas Martha Abreu.

Niurka Arriete Hernández, Director of Technological Development of Mincom and Secretary of the Technical Advisory Council, expressed in her words: "the official constitution of the Technical Advisory Council of the Ministry of Communications, as an advisory body whose main mission is to study and elaborate recommendations with a scientific and innovative vision, linked to the topics of telecommunications, informatics, radio communications, postal services, management of the radio spectrum and cyber-security.

"Our Council was created by Resolution 72 of this year. It is chaired by the Minister, by Vice Minister Grisel Reyes León as Vice President and the Director of Technological Development of Mincom as its Secretary. It is also made up by 48 experts, of which 16 are Doctors of Science, 18 Masters of Science, 10 Engineers and 4 Bachelor's degrees.

For its work in commissions, 4 permanent commissions were constituted:

- Telecommunications,
- Computer Science,
- Cybersecurity and
- One dedicated to the Postal Activity.

In this difficult year, we have been able to submit documents of great importance for the Sector such as

The update of the Broadband Strategy,

the R&D&I Thematic Lines of the Communication System for the 2020-2025 period

the objectives of the National Science and Technology Program of "Telecommunications and Computerization of Society" and

The Proposal of the Economic Stockholders for the Strengthening of the Cuban Industry of Computer Applications and Services.

"For the next year, some of the foreseen topics will be related to the design of the Sectorial Programs, so the Strategy of Science, Technology and Innovation of the Communication System and the files of the 3 Sectorial Programs that we are planning, the one of Telecommunications Infrastructure, the one of Cybersecurity and the one of Software and Computerization Industry, will be consulted.

"In a strategic sector like ours, with so many challenges, and from which the State and government expect results that allow us to carry out the computerization of society and achieve technological sovereignty, having a group of experts like you is a strength."

During the ceremony, the certificates accrediting the experts as members of the Ministry's Technical Advisory Council were presented.